Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I'm from L.I. I'm new to Harley's but have rode for a few years. I actually just inherited my fathers 02 road king. I had unfortunately lost my father to cancer in February. But I'm not here for a sob story but to join the hd community. Looking forward to learning and Being a part of it. - Kenny

Now the second part, the bike won't start. When you press the start button it does a single click. I charged the battery overnight and it's about a year old but even when we replaced the battery it was doing it and occasionally would start. Now nothing. I am pretty handy but I guess just cause it was my dads I'm afraid to touch it or start messing with it. He also had a lot of work done to it. I don't really know where to start. I tried searching for any solutions but i currently am kinda limited do to knowledge of the bike and my tools are currently in storage that I can't get to currently cause of my fathers passing. So any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

·
Registered
313 Posts
Welcome from the islands. I'm sure someone from the forum will b able to help u out.

·
Registered
5,402 Posts
Welcome from VA. Did you read the voltage and put a load test on the battery after charging? Battery may be toast. Voltage should read 12.7v or better. Load test a sealed battery to check for dead cells. Make sure the cables are clean and tight.

·
Registered
5,402 Posts
You can always take it to a parts store and get it checked for free. Like Advance Auto, AutoZone, etc.

·
Try'n to behave
5,861 Posts
Pull the battery. Autozone, Advanced Auto, NAPA, ORielly's...any of the big auto parts stores can check it for you.

Also, check your grounds. A poor ground that worked loose from vibration will prevent starts.

You might be best served by bringing it to a bike mechanic and getting a base line on it so you know what your dealing with.