Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Eastbound and Down
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I was hoping my first post wasn't going to have to be a question. My uncle Bill was the original owner of a 1988 softail springer fxsts. He passed away last year and the bike sat in his living room because my parents didnt know what to do with it. I decided to buy it from them and just got the bike back to my house. I trailered it home and when I went to start it up I noticed a large pool of oil leaking from the breather. The bike probably sat for at least 6 months.

Does anyone know what may be causing this and what I can do to stop it. Like I said I just got this bike so I'm a novice when it comes to parts/nomenclature/function. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I've included a pic of the part that where the oil is coming from.

Attachments

·
Retired citizen
22,051 Posts
That's from a "sumped" crankcase. With the oil tank higher than the case and the pump oil can seep past the pump check ball and get into the case. Fire the engine up and run it for a while and the pump will evacuate the oil from the case back to the tank. Don't add oil to the tank until the engine is run for a while or the tank will over flow.

·
Eastbound and Down
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ill give it a try and let you know. Thanks

·
Eastbound and Down
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The leakage has slowed dramatically. More of a drip now. I thought that maybe all the oil drained out so I gave a look. There is still oil in it, but it has lots of bubbles. Is that normal?

·
Eastbound and Down
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Perfect. Thanks a million. Everything else seems to be normal then. One more quick question. My uncle had a thermostat dipstick. There are no markings on it like low or add oil. Looks more like the end of a meat thermometer. My question is how do I know if there is enough oil. Right now the oil is maybe a 1/8 inch up on the stick which is 4" long

·
Registered