Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all
I am new to this forum but not new to motorcycles or Harley Davidson.
I am 45 and have been off any type of motorcycle since my last failed neck operation in 2012.
My Last bike was a 2012 GL1800 :biking: which I loved but could no longer ride.
I have over 12 years under my belt riding many different Harley Davidson's trying to find one that worked with my bad neck and back for the long rides I used to go on. I have over 28 years experience riding all types of motorcycles.
As the years went by and my back got much worse I couldn't ride more than 20 miles without my hands getting so numb I had to palm the throttle to get home.
This is the reason I switched to an import. however after a few failed lower back and neck surgeries I couldn't even get on my 2012 GL 1800 and had to let it go. mainly because I couldn't afford the payments as I was disabled and out of work.
Its been about 21/2 years now and I have been working hard trying to recover some using an electric assist bicycle to help get me somewhat in shape.
yet the last two years have felt like I have been on house arrest because I could only get so far with my E bike.
I finally saved up enough money to buy a 1997 1200 Custom to get me back and fourth to my doctors office and get me on the road if even for only short trips. my back has so many levels that are fused it makes it hard to even get in and out of a car.
getting on a bicycle or a short motorcycle is much easier for me as I just walk over the bike to get on.
So far I have only rode it about 60 miles bringing it home from Miami Florida to Lake Worth I was surprised to find out I only needed to stop once and that was to put fuel in the tiny fuel tank.
I felt like I could have kept going without a break.