Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I am new to riding, having only rode a friends bike many years ago. I have taken the motorcycle course and was considering a HD (since there are no other bikes, as far as I'm concerned). I really love the RK, and being concerned about safety the ABS option made it even more attractive.

I have rented one and it handled fine, considering it was my first time on such a big bike. I figured I'd get use to the size but after 1 hour my throttle hand started going numb. I have consider I may have had a "death grip", being my first time on the bike, but also have considered what options I have to combat the numbness if indeed I purchase the bike. ISO grips, gel gloves, bar weights and even some after market item that goes inside the handlebars to reduce the vibration. Is there anything else to consider? Do any other HD models have less handlebar vibration?

I'd hate to buy the bike only to be limited to short trips because of the numbing. I don't get numb hands with any other activity but I also got some hand numbing on the bike I used in the training class.
Any input would be appreciated. Thanka!

·
Git 'er done
400 Posts
Relax and enjoy the ride.

A death grip on the throttle (or even with the left hand) can lead to the numbness. You should be able to maintain your speed with your hand held wide open...just 'pushing' against the throttle.

Gel gloves will help a little, but I have found that letting go of the throttle is the best way to keep circulation running through the fingers.

You may want to consider a larger grip that does not allow you to close you hand as much...

bottom line is that you are going to end up on a HD...life is good:woo

·
Just passing thru
6,636 Posts
Hey Sail,