Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am gonna be looking for my first Harley. I have raced motocross my whole life so I am not new to riding just new to riding a Harley. I am 6'3 230 lbs and I have 8,000 to spend on a bike. A little help would be great as I am new to this. So maybe what to look for when buying and what kind of bikes to look at? Thank you Ryan

·
Registered
1,088 Posts
What kind of riding do you plan on doing . . . touring/trips, in town/commuting, weekend rides for a couple hours, passenger, etc. Are you looking for speed and performance, a bike that you can modify (intake, exhaust, engine)?

Start with a visit to your local Harley-Davidson dealership and sit on some bikes and see what feels good and a nice fit. Not sure if you are in a warm climate right now, but take some bikes for a test ride. You will know when you find the right bike for you. I am 6'2" and 215 pounds. My wife's first Harley was a Street 750, which was way too small for my frame. She now has a Forty-Eight, which is perfect for her, not so much for me. I ride an Ultra Limited and love it.

Good luck with your search.

·
Addicted Since 2010
7,897 Posts
What kind of riding do you plan on doing . . . touring/trips, in town/commuting, weekend rides for a couple hours, passenger, etc. Are you looking for speed and performance, a bike that you can modify (intake, exhaust, engine)?

Start with a visit to your local Harley-Davidson dealership and sit on some bikes and see what feels good and a nice fit. Not sure if you are in a warm climate right now, but take some bikes for a test ride. You will know when you find the right bike for you. I am 6'2" and 215 pounds. My wife's first Harley was a Street 750, which was way too small for my frame. She now has a Forty-Eight, which is perfect for her, not so much for me. I ride an Ultra Limited and love it.

Good luck with your search.
This.