Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am new to this forum and this is my first post.

Just got a new Sportster 48, so far just 300 miles on it. According to the users manual it is fine to cruise at 50mph in 5th. However the vibrations are severe between 45 and 70 in 5th. At 75mph it is quite smooth.

I have no previous experience with Sportsters, and I am surprised of the magnitude of the vibrations. It is worst around 50mph and I hoped that the tires where oval or flat spottet, but they seem round. Also the vibrations cause a back and forth rocking motion rather than up/down, so I think it really is the engine vibrations.

I would like to know if a new Sportsters are supposed to run like that, of if someone has an idea about what could be wrong.

Sportster Dane

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
Dane
I have a new Iron 1200 and asked the shop to check it out twice due to vibration.If it is too severe check the front motor mount for looseness and the belt tension.Otherwise I guess it is the nature of the beast. Mine is fine at 60mph but at 65 mph I can barely make out vehicles in my mirrors. At 75 mph it goes back to smooth again.Even though it vibrates more than I have gotten used to I love it. The Sportster just seems like I am back to riding a 'motorcycle' rather than a rolling couch.
Colt.45

·
Registered
472 Posts
New Iron 883 here. Can't say much, but keep in mind that they build these Evo motors a little loose - it's one of the reasons they are (nearly) impossible to kill. Not unheard of to hear piston slap or other noises. Not sure if that might lend itself to vibrations or not.

If nothing else, keep an eye on it and see how things go. Dealer will likely tell you to go the 500-1000 miles before worrying too much as everything is 'seating' in the engine and learning to play nice with one another.