Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I'm new to riding, just got my m1. My question is, I'm looking at getting a road king because I feel for my size it's the best. (In 6'2 and 260lbs. Anyway, I was told that I should look into getting an 02 or lower road king because after 02 harley stopped using aircraft metal and started using a cheaper metal, thus the 03 and newer biker are not as good. I'm wondering if there is any truth to this? I looked everywhere and couldn't find. I hope I'm posting in the right place for this. Thanks in advance for your support.

Richard Macleod.

·
Keep on Ridin’
8,054 Posts
Total crapola.

There are refinements through the years that have improved the model, but though I'm not a guru by any stretch of the imagination, I read constantly and I am not aware of any backward steps.

The Road King is perfect for your size And you will love it!

--

·
Fat Guy on the Ultra
5,388 Posts
If I was gonna get any HD touring bike I would not go older then an 09. 2009 they changed alot and the ride got better. Wider rear tire, more rigid frame. Then in 2014 they did some more changes and it's even better by what I read. But to be honest, there aren't any issues with anything past 2000+ as far as I know.

·
Registered
7,411 Posts
Welcome from Virginia. You were right to question the logic on that wives-tale. Completely unfounded.

·
luv the low country
19,251 Posts
Welcome from Conway, SC. Usually you here a lot of BS about Harleys from non-Harley owners who wish they had one. I have an '02 Road King and have had zero issues with it. I absolutely love my King.

·
Registered
2,240 Posts
Welcome to the forum from N.Y.
I always love hearing the line of B S that people say about Harley like they have first hand experience.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #14