Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
IBA Member 40248
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.. New to this forum. I've been riding since April 2008 and hooked! Just traded in my 2003 Heritage on a 2008 Ultra!! With that in mind, I had a couple of questions for you more saavy riders/mechanics out there.

First off, break in..do you guys do the "HD manual recommended" soft break in, or do you guys "ride it like you stole it"?? Very confused on all the info I get online. I now have about 300 miles on the bike, the majority of that was on the interstate varying my speeds when possible.

Second question is regarding simple maintenance. I'd like to change my own oil, etc.. any tips for this particular bike? Tools/widgets that help? Any info is good info for me. Thanks again and I look forward to chatting with all on here... ride safe..

Mike....

·
STAND AND FIGHT!
13,175 Posts
Welcome aboard Mike..

Of course you're hoooked. We all are.

Buy the service manual. Don't even attempt the simplest maintenance procedure w/o it, except maybe chacking the air in your tires.

As to break-in, don't race, or over-rev it, don't ride the same speed and throttle setting for a half hour, accel, decel, accel, decel.

·
SNAFU organizer
4,127 Posts
Yea stick to the HD reccomended.
Get the HD service manual for your scoot. It will outline any particular tool you need for the givin service on your model.
May want to get the electrical diagnostics manual for your model too if your really into your own work.

·
IBA Member 40248
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #4