Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First thanks for allowing me to join a very informative, and friendly forum. I am new to the motorcycle world, I have yet to obtain my full bike endorsement, I purchased a 2003 sportster 1200 anniversary edition with a trike add on for my first ever bike. I hope that I will be able learn from the many experienced people on this site . So that you all know I have never ridden a motorcycle I have rode bikes and a moped a few times but never a motorcycle, that's why I got the trike kit, so it would be easier to control, and learn on. Any and all input will be greatly welcomed.

·
Registered
7,340 Posts
Welcome!

I don't want to damper your enthusiasm in any way, but in the interest of your heath, I should mention that the handling characteristics of a trike and conventional two-wheeler don't really mirror in any way.

I had never ridden a road trike, and got a chance a few years ago. I almost killed myself on that thing. It is completely different than riding a motorcycle.

But, if you stay with a trike, there are a bunch of nice options out there. The general experience of being in the wind is quite the same!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Welcome from Michigan

You are going to really enjoy this forum there is lots of good info on here about everything having to do with bikes and how ppl use them!

·
Harley Rider
10,488 Posts
Welcome from College Station, TX.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Welcome from central Michigan. I echo chasarms above comments regarding trikes. I detailed bikes at a Harley/chopper shop and one of our shop bikes was a raked sport trike. Totally different handling! It required a LOT of thought, especially in traffic. That said, I see a lot of trikes on the road, some towing trailers, so it can be done and enjoyed.

My suggestion is to ride (if you can) little-used blacktops during the week until you have a good feel for your bike's handling.

Above all: Ride Safely.

·