Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ll be the first to admit that I am a novice and try to be mindful of this while riding. I have yet to encounter rain and am looking for wisdom. This time of year rain will come out of the blue. I’m trying to ride more and more so at some point it will get me. Any pointers for a first time rain rider ?

·
Try'n to behave
6,631 Posts
Light rain, don't bother wasting time, get through it and be done. Heavy chit. Get your rain gear on early. Wear a full face helmet, ride a little slower but don't let it worry you too much. As long as you have good tires, your bike will roll right through.

RELAX!

·
Registered
21 LowRider S
45,160 Posts
If you are the habit of using either your front or rear brakes more you will slide and probably go down. Stay out of the center of the lane. It gets very slippery when the rain starts.
Yup, be cautious when rain first starts. It will bring up the oils to the surface.
If it rains long enough, this will get washed off the roads.

·
Registered
12,590 Posts
If it's gonna rain and you have a choice, ride the interstates rather than the 2 lane roads. Most interstates have lots of overpasses you can shelter under during the worst of a storm. And when you do park under an overpass, get away from your parked bike. Walk a bit up the steep concrete slope so if a sleepy or otherwise impaired driver takes out your parked bike they won't get you.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Hello @Mjblat and even though you joined the site prior to me, welcome from Virginia.