Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Ultra classic
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First HD, and I'm having small issues. A bit of the old background, I have been riding for about 3 years now but my first "real" bike was and is a Honda Shadow that I fully built myself. Full frame off restoration so I know metric bikes OK.
But Being 6'5 that bike was and is a tad bit to small I look like a Grizzly on a bicycle at the circus. LOL
So a friend of mine who has had a heart attack and is now finishing his cancer treatments ( yes he beat it and is now in remission) who can no longer ride pretty much gave me his '99 Ultra Glide.

I'm doing a good bit of normal maintenance before I ride it. It has been sitting for about 1 1/2 years. Getting ready to replace the CPS because it has now spark to the plugs. It ran last week just fine. I drained the tank changed the gas and rode it home and for a bit the following day. It did have a hard time starting but it started. Now nothing, it will crank all day but no spark. Not a big deal, but the spark plugs themselves look like they have seen better days.
Can I just grab spark plugs from like Auto Zone or do they have to be "special" plugs from HD? The Honda have different sizes from normal plugs so you have to go to Honda to get the plugs.
I want to replace the plug wires as well but I have those. This will get 1 of the items off my "to do" list on this bike.

·
weird member
1997 Softail Custom (FXSTC)
3,458 Posts
They just need to be the right size and be frequency resistor/resistance or whatever it is.

If you look on Google, there's actually a chart somewhere of equivalent plugs from Champion, NGK and others to plugs specified in the owner's manual.

Quick Google search, plug listed for 99 Ultra is RA8HC. Just search for equivalent plugs. NGK and Denso are good spark plugs.

·
Registered
43,190 Posts