Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding 412's for about 7 months now on my 883 and they are too stiff for me. I contacted the company but they told me they do not have lighter springs for my shocks. I am 170 lb.

I thought $300 would buy me more than this.

Any suggestions? Would 430's be a signifcant improvement?

·
Wayward Son
23,865 Posts
From the their page about the 412`s.
A five-position cam style preload adjuster lets you dial in your ride whether you're a light rider or heavy hitter.
So we can assume you have tried all 5 adjustments.

Also. Any time you go to a shorter shock you will usually experience a stiffer ride due to less travel.

·
Wayward Son
23,865 Posts
Looks like there are two types of 412`s
412 Cruise Series Shocks and the 412 Series Shocks.
I will figure that you got the later mentioned.
They come available in different lengths. That is why I mentioned shorter shocks.
If you have tried all 5 of the available adjustments then it is possible that the 412`s just are not what you are looking for.
Everyone wants a little something different from their bike, has a different feeling for what is an acceptable ride.

Sometimes it can take more then just a shock swap to get there. Experimenting with tire pressure, a different seat..... :dunno

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Looks like there are two types of 412`s
412 Cruise Series Shocks and the 412 Series Shocks.
I will figure that you got the later mentioned.
They come available in different lengths. That is why I mentioned shorter shocks.
If you have tried all 5 of the available adjustments then it is possible that the 412`s just are not what you are looking for.
Everyone wants a little something different from their bike, has a different feeling for what is an acceptable ride.

Sometimes it can take more then just a shock swap to get there. Experimenting with tire pressure, a different seat..... :dunno