Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to start this thread by letting you all know I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. I'm an artist, so treat me like a moron and I may be able to fix this problem.

I have a 2001 1200 Sportster that I've put about 4,000 miles on since I bought it. Late last Fall I had some starter problems that put the bike away for the year. I've since replaced the starter. Now what I'm experiencing is that my oil "idiot" light goes on after I put about 15 miles on the bike. This is about the half way point on my way to and from work.

I've read some of the forum posts about a similar problem, clogged lines, worn oil pump, air in lines, but no one ever posts the resolution to their problems. I'd prefer to do this as cheaply as possible since I just dropped of 2 bills to on the starter issue and I have kids to feed. What's the most likely problem here? If it is the oil pump, that's what most people around work think, how difficult is it to rebuild? Is a rebuild something a novice should even attempt?

Some more needed info...I have 17,000+ miles on the bike. Oil was changed about a month ago with 20-50. New oil filter. New sensor. Oil bag feels hot to me, but no temp readings for that.

·
Maddog
394 Posts
Oil pumps rarely "fail" by themselfs. I would put a guage on it and see what that tells
you. You probably have debris in the screen or something along those lines.

2 cents..

·
Maddog
394 Posts
I looked at the parts list, theres no screen in the cam chest or at the pump. So that's not the issue. Was it doing that before the oil change?

·
Registered
7,340 Posts
At some point before you start disassembling anything, you need to verify that you actually have a drop in oil pressure. The sending unit that triggers that light could just as easily be the problem. It could be failing when it gets hot.

·
Hit it she goes boom
5,114 Posts