Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone! I'm newbie here, in the community, and in motorcycles. I bought an 2017 HD Iron XL883N recently, it came from US. I live in Kazakhstan, by the way. The bike is great, I'm happy to be owner of it! :) I can't ride a lot, 'cause I don't have a license for it yet, 'cause of quarantine. But almost everyday I take a little trip on my townhouse territory, about 500 meters - 1 kilometer. I do it almost a month. So, I see today a wet hose connection to the oil tank. It was oil. It's hard to me to explain this with words, so I have attached pictures to this message. Does anybody else ran into this problem? Or may be somebody has a suggestion? Thank you in advance!
PS
Sorry for my English, it's not my native language.

·
Registered
4,951 Posts
Your english is more than adequate in describing your problem. That bottom hose has been removed and replaced/reattached for some reason. The clamp is different than original and for some reason, the hose is swelled at the end of the fitting. My suggestion is to get the bike warm so the hose is more pliable, then loosen the clamp clean the area as well as possible and try to get the hose clamp on the hose a little farther. While you are doing this, get the screw head of the clamp higher so there is less chance of the belt hitting it. Ride it, retighten the clamp and watch the area to see if it still leaks. It is possible the end of the hose got damaged and the hose needs to be replaced.

·
Proud Infidel
2,773 Posts