Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any tips or suggestions for aftermarket pipes for an '03 LowRider? I am a new rider, only 1000 miles under my belt so not very experienced but I am looking for something I can do myself to increase the sound level(but not to an absurd lvl). The stock pipes on my bike just seem too quiet. I've seen the arguments about only the people behind you here loud pipes but most of my commute to work is low speed 30-50mph dense traffic so being heard is necessary. Is it necessary to adjust the carb when changing out pipes? Or are there aftermarket pipes that don't require that? Again, I'm a noob so I'm looking for a DIY project that won't have me running to a mechanic after I f*#k it up.

Thanks for your thoughts on this!

·
STAND AND FIGHT!
13,188 Posts
If you want loud pipes, that is your choice, but for whatever it's worth, IMHO if you think louder pipes will make any difference in your safety in traffic, you are placing confidence in a very dubious concept. Many riders do hold this belief, but many riders want loud pipes for reasons that have nothing to do with safety, and no safety study or expert that I know of agrees.

It's good to be looking for an edge, any way to increase your odds.
I personally don't think that is a very good one.

Study up on The Hurt Report, reduce or eliminate as many risk factors as possible.

http://www.harley-davidsonforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=23183&highlight=Hurt+report#post23183