Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In Maine in the winter it is essential to think SPRING. so we are planning a trip to VA and TN for the month of April on our RKC and sidecar and just wondered if anyone out there has any great rides or destinations in those states? I am a photographer so I am looking for scenic areas although my wife does insist on a trip to Dollywood! I have a trip to Great Smokey Natl Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway planned.
Thanks .

·
IBA Member 40248
120 Posts
Howdy Scrinch... I live in the Northern VA area.. There are several rides that I can recommend for the spring. Probably the most scenic one is "Skyline Drive".. Its in the Shenandoah National Park. It costs about $10 per vehicle including motorcycles. This drive from beginning to end is about 105 miles and takes at least a few hours. There is a halfway point turnaround with gas and some food. If you follow skyline to the end, north to south, you can continue onto the blue ridge parkway.. again, very scenic and a great ride. Just be ready for the switchbacks and mountain roads. There are several more rides that I've done that are really nice. Just depends on how much you want to see and how much time you have. Post a reply and let me know how long you have and I'll try to help you out. TONS of stuff from wilderness rides to historic rides like civil war battlefields, revolutionary themed rides, etc..

·
Ms. Subtle
1,930 Posts
the blue ridge parkway is nice .. its gorgeous any time of year..

in tennessee there are plenty of back roads and historic things to see..

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies,

Hopefully we will have about a month from about April 7 until May 7 or so.