Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Señor Member
19,666 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My FIL is pricing his first HD. I'm riding my first, so I am not an expert on pricing/value of used bikes.

He found a 2009 Fatbob with 12k miles that looked cherry for $13,000 without any haggling yet.

What do you think of that as a starting price for that bike?

·
Fat Guy on the Ultra
5,388 Posts
Well according to kbb.com, retail value is $11875. Thats excellent original condition. With no add-ons.

Mileage sounds low and any aftermarket add ons could increase value. Is there an extended warranty? Does the seller have maintenance records?

Kbb.com trade in value is only $8700

If its a private seller id say 10-11 k would be fair.

·
Registered
10,839 Posts
My FIL is pricing his first HD. I'm riding my first, so I am not an expert on pricing/value of used bikes.

He found a 2009 Fatbob with 12k miles that looked cherry for $13,000 without any haggling yet.

What do you think of that as a starting price for that bike?
For reference, in November I traded my 2011 Fat Bob to the dealer cause in over 3 months I never got a single response from my Craigslist ads. It was a 2011, Sedona Orange, 6,671 miles, and had stage 1 with Big Sucker A/C, SE tuner, Rush slip ons. Got $11,500 from the dealer. He had it on his floor for $13,XXX (can't remember exactly) and sold it--don't know what he actually got for it. He also still has (He has had it a long time) a 2008 Fat Bob with some cheap bags and some other minor add ons but no stage 1 and he is asking $12,8xx for it.

Be sure and check the Craigslist ads not only in your city but also in nearby cities.

·
EVO RULER
3,722 Posts
A brand new one can be had for close to that money! I'd say 8 to 10 depending on add-ons and condition.

·
Señor Member
19,666 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well according to kbb.com, retail value is $11875. Thats excellent original condition. With no add-ons.