Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I am Dan. I'm 22 and just bought my first bike, finally! I have always wanted one, and finally, I got mine. I am extremely excited. I'm an auto mechanic, and know my way around cars very well, but I am totally new to motorcycles.

I just bought an '09 Sporty XL883L. It only has 470 miles on it. It's immaculate, and just beautiful. It's perfect for me, as a beginner.

It's a great addition to my collection of vehicles. I have a '69 GTO, '86 F150, '71 M35A2, and an '02 Caravan for daily use.

I have yet to attain my motorcycle license. I need to take a safety course and all that good stuff. I have driven it around my neighborhood some. Overall, it comes pretty natural to me, but still some of it feels foreign, like slow speed turning. But, working the clutch and shifting came very easy to me. I know most of the mechanics of it from driving cars, riding dirtbikes and 4 wheelers, so I have a good starting point.

It has the standard mid controls, which feel really weird. I got a cramp in my hip the first time I rode it, LOL. And I kind of slide down in the seat. I'm 5'10 185lbs. I am thinking I will be much more comfortable with forward controls.

Anyway, I wanted to introduce myself to the community. I welcome any suggestions and advice! Thank you!

·
Go Army!
632 Posts
From Salt Lake City - :welcome

·
Registered
1,967 Posts
Welcome to the Forum !
Keep the mid-controls & just install a set of High-Way Bars , that way you have a choice of shifting points . Shift normally with the mid's and/or shift from the highway bars using the back of your foot (boot) ankle . Works like a charm .
Sometimes on a long ride you can stand-up on the mids & stretch plus you can move around more to change positions while ridding .
Oh , and one more thing , in an emergency situation you can control your bike better with mid-controls !
Just saying , always better to have options !