Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I dropped my bike about 3 weeks ago. I was following a group of people who made a sudden turn long story short I grabbed front brake and went down in the gravel. Question is what if anything should I have checked out? Damage was very minimal thankfully for the crash bar in the front only messed up saddle bag and pipes a bit and one floorboard bracket. All those parts have been fixed! But was just curious if I should have front end checked out or anything else?? Any advice would be greatly appreciated... Crazy i've been riding for 15 years and first time i've ever put a bike down and it had to be my first Harley.... Oh well hopefully now it's out of my system and I never have to experience that again...

·
On Probation
2,205 Posts
I would give it a good look over and find any loose or broken/cracked parts, ride it and if it feels right it probably is.
Take it to a dealer and pay an hour labor to let them check it out if you'll sleep better at night.

·
Registered
930 Posts
Agreed with sickness, just like to add one thing, these bikes are built tough regardless of what u hear. If something is broken it will be noticeable while ur riding. Give it a good visual, under, over, every nook and cranny, look for cracks, bends and loose bolts. Use ur manual for bolt torques and go threw and make sure everything is nice and sound. If u don't feel comfy doing this then take it to dealership for a piece of mind is a good idea. Welcome to the club man, we have all been there or will all be there soon! Haha

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
The Angry One
10,578 Posts

·
Rookie for life
929 Posts
That definitely sucks but I wouldn't worry too much about it. I've been to riding classes and courses and dropped these bikes hard, time after time. The damage is usually just cosmetic.

Glad to hear you're not hurt. :thumbup:

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Senile Member
1,713 Posts