Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I recently purchased a 2014 Sportster Custom 1200 and it's absolutely amazing solo I just love riding my Harley. However with a passenger the rear suspension is not the best just seems a bit hard on the bumps. Adjusting the pre load doesn't seem to do much so I guess there is much more to setting up suspension than this. I know you can get aftermarket shocks but will that fix my issue. I have adjusted the shocks from the softest to hardest and to be honest can't really tell the difference but then again I'm new to Harleys from 4 cylinder Jap bikes which are smooth in comparison so it could be normal. Any suggestions for a better rear suspension. I am 75 kilos and my partner about 65 kilos so we are not that heavy. I bought the bike second hand only 2 months old and the suspension was set on the hardest setting. I now have set in the middle. Any suggestions most welcome.

Cheers

Scouser :):):):)

·
Registered
3,498 Posts
First off, I'm really surprised you can't tell much difference between settings. But, so be it. Sportster shocks are not the best, at least by some standards.

Progressive Suspension, among others has several options check out their web site.

·
Dirty Member
1,142 Posts
First off, I'm really surprised you can't tell much difference between settings. But, so be it. Sportster shocks are not the best, at least by some standards.

Progressive Suspension, among others has several options check out their web site.
Progressive will work as stated. Also look into Ohlins from Motorcycle Metal. They will custom set them up to your specs for weight, riding style etc. There is some set up time involved in the fine tuning when you get them, but they are adjustable for preload, dampening and rebound.
When finished, you will have a set up custom made for you.
Only down side is that they are more expensive than progressive, but they are the best.

·
Registered
5 Posts