Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Independent shop diagnosed blown head gasket but there is no oil leak on my 2009 Dyna Low Rider. Is that possible?

I took it to a small Dyno tuner shop near where I just moved to (so I don't know anyone for hundreds of miles around) and the guy called me a while after I dropped it off for the tune and told me to come back because there is a problem he wanted to show me.

He had my bike warmed up and let me use his stethoscope to listen to engine where head meets jug on left side and then on right side. I heard the difference, kind of an on-and-off tweeting or whistling, and I could hear it a little without the stethoscope.

There is no oil leak or any visual indication of a problem. The bike doesn't seem to have lost power but it sometimes seems a bit off, like needing tune (it currently has FP3 which was last adjusted over a year ago).

I'm no expert and only been riding 4 years and am 61 and never road even a dirt bike before 57 years old. I wrenched on cars over 3 decades ago but probably forgot more than I ever knew.

It doesn't seem to have lost compression either and I have a Innova cheapo compression tester that I will check again after doing it wrong the first time by leaving air filter and air cleaner cover on. Both front and back cylinders read 190 doing it wrong like that if that info means anything of value. I will remove filter and check again as soon as I have no rain long enough to do a warm-up ride before the test today.

In the mean time, any helpful info would be appreciated. I am wondering if I am just being taken for a fool (and a lot of money) because later I started wondering if I was just hearing normal exhaust or intake noise with stethoscope checking cylinder head at gasket on that side of engine where everything seems close to exhaust and intake noise.

Thank in advance.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·