Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am leaving tomorrow from Cali to Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming for 10 days.
Got everything ready, I want to bring along a friend named Ruger, anybody know how these states are about carrying wo a permit?
I know what Cali is like, I am more concerned with being out of state.

Thanks

·
Mississippi Cajun
24,522 Posts
Oregon is probably as bad as Comifornia. Idaho and Wyoming will probably give you a ticket for NOT carrying. Seriously, check that link...be safe.

·
Wayward Son
23,356 Posts

·
Keep on Ridin’
8,054 Posts
Maybe he's transporting, not carrying?

--

·
Registered
106 Posts
I live in Idaho and if you carry concealed without a permit they will nail your ass. They want everyone to have a permit.

·
CRSO
344 Posts
Check www.handgunlaw.us

As a certified instructor, I can tell you that if you plan on carrying concealed in Oregon and you get caught, you'll go to jail.
Oregon does not honor anyone else's concealed carry licenses (if you happen to have one from another state).
Assuming you're talking about going on a motorcycle, the most legal way to transport your friend Ruger is unloaded, and locked in the saddlebags.
This method complies with federal law; Title18 of the US CFR, section 926a and is applicable for all the states you listed.
In Oregon if the handgun is concealed, and within the drivers' reach within a vehicle, you must have an Oregon concealed handgun license. It doesn't matter if it's loaded or unloaded (ORS 166.250).

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
691 Posts
Based on what these folks said, it doesn't seem to be worth the risk. If the laws are that tough in Oregon, you can bet the state troopers are looking to pull people over for any reason.

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #10