Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I just picked my bike up and have yet to ride it to much, my question is this. Should I loosen the tight side of this front axle clamp and proportionally even it out? I will try to get a picture hooked up, forgive me i’m new at this and don’t even know how to reply to individual comments yet.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well I can’t figure out how to thumbnail a picture so I’ll just say, the clamp underneath of the fork is completely tight on the front side and has an almost 1/8” gap on the back. Also the rear stud bolt is shorter but still sticks out past the nut a ways, so it that shouldn’t matter to much.

·
Registered
536 Posts
Go by what the Owners manual and/or Service manual says for your year/make/model. They are specific!

·
Registered
4,845 Posts
If I just picked up my 2019 HD, I would take it back to the dealer and ask them to properly install and tighten the front axle. They shouldn't give you a hard time as this could be a safety issue.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sorry, I forgot to mention she’s an oldie. 84 flat. Shade tree done.

·
Just Ride
3,036 Posts
Loosen the front nut,then tighten evenly to specified torque.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Well, I figured out why they had the front right. Loosened it, tightened the back to even it out, then went to torque them down 10ftlbs and notice the front stud was pulling out a heli coil. This sucks. Now what!?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Hoping since the stud is sticking out farther than the other one that it’s not in all that far and just stripped a few threads, hopefully having some more threads up in there to work with.

·
Registered
536 Posts