Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Frontrider
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hope I can get a little assistance out there. Hubbie just bought a Road King and we would like to do a little riding together. I don't seem to develop the affinity for being a passenger. I am new to riding road/cruiser...had dirt bikes many moons ago. I have sat on a few and seem to like the low narrow feel of the slim, but have been told the fat boy may be more comfortable for longer rides. We likely won't do more than 3 - 4 hour rides here in north Georgia and surrounding area of Tennessee, North Carolina etc.

I am about 5'8" and pretty strong female, but don't want something so heavy it is hard for me to maneuver. Most females I talk with say they either have, or would get the softail slim.

Any suggestions?

·
Super Moderator
4,914 Posts
Test rides! New Models are out and there are bound to be several dealers offering ride days. Also check out a MSF motorcycle safety course. Many offer bikes, smaller ones though, and that will give you a few hours of riding to see how you like the weight. Really, the Fat Boy will not ride too much differently that the RK, it weights a bit more but not much. If the RK doesn't feel right then a Slim might be your best option. Plus remember if the weight feels borderline, consider stopping at a light and putting your foot down in some oil, always account for that and gravel and such.

·
Frontrider
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks ematicic, I am actually registered for the MSF course next weekend, and you echoed my thoughts exactly. I find that I feel more secure sitting a little lower, I suspect that is why I, so far am liking the ride of the slim. I haven't wanted to subject bikes to my test riding until I had the course...I can get the willies our on their little honda's.....just sayin'

·
Registered
42,156 Posts
Softail Slim has the lowest seat height of any HD straight from the factory.

·
Registered
12,957 Posts