Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologize in advance for my lack of knowlege...

Almost everyone I show my new bike (2013 Fatboy Lo) ask me if I'm going to do a stage1, I'm new to the awesome "Harley" expedience...I did a search and found lots of info talking about "stage1", but not really explaining what is it you do to the bike...

Definitely appreciate a quick lesson...Thanks.

·
THE Yuppie Outlaw
10,082 Posts
Stage 1

1. High flow air cleaner, usually made up of new filter and polished back plate and port.

2. Some sort of exhaust upgrade, be it a complete new system or slip on mufflers.

3. Computer tuning to adjust for new levels of fresh air and less exhaust back pressure.

Depending on what you do for a new exhaust, a stage one can be done for anywhere from $600ish to well over a Grand.

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Stage 1

1. High flow air cleaner, usually made up of new filter and polished back plate and port.

2. Some sort of exhaust upgrade, be it a complete new system or slip on mufflers.

3. Computer tuning to adjust for new levels of fresh air and less exhaust back pressure.

Depending on what you do for a new exhaust, a stage one can be done for anywhere from $600ish to well over a Grand.

Thanks JP.

I though it was something you do to the engine...

Guess I'll be doing stage1 very soon...

·
THE Yuppie Outlaw
10,082 Posts
Stage 2 is really nothing more than cams and lifters.

Stage 3 is all engine. Heads, pistons, rings, bearings, etc........

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks again JP for all the info...Little by little I learn something new every day on the forum...

·
THE Yuppie Outlaw
10,082 Posts
That's what the forum is for.

The other stuff is just the gravy that keeps us here when we're not talking about bikes.

·
Senile Member
1,713 Posts