Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie Harley owner having just bought a 1200C and I'm hooked.
I don't really want to mess with the new bike yet, I like it the way it is--for now.
But now I have it in my head to build a hot street sporty just to mess with the 'busa's and kawi's. I do realize that is a tall order, but is it possible?
I have noticed during my limited research that supercharging these things is not done often, more on the cool show choppers than any performance racing types.

A little background: I have much experience supercharging cars with mud racers, top dragsters, top sportsman, top alcohol, and an insane front engine VW bug under my belt. (All alcohol injected)
I have done some successful turbo stuff too, but I like the look and loud of the supercharged stuff.
I also happen to have a collection of small superchargers to choose from.
It is safe to assume that I can make whatever components I need to drive, mount and plumb this, and I am planning on electronic fuel injection using E85 for fuel. (Alcohol from a gas station--who knew?)

As I am looking into this I find there are many variations of the sporty motor, and at first glance it looks like the one called the "iron head" may be the most promising candidate due to the way the head and cylinder bolt on.
But there is much I do not know.
Like:
Is the 4speed stronger than the 5?
How good is the stock clutch?
and the big question--why is this not a popular mod?

Please weigh in and educate me, I REALLY want to do this.

Kendrick

·
Registered
41,422 Posts
I think the primary reason is that turbos are more efficient than superchargers, and much easier to implement.

If you go with any type of power adder, you will want to go with an aftermarket clutch.

·
Retired citizen
24,163 Posts
If your 1200C is EFI there'll be a setup issue. Probably want to convert to carb.