Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding a couple of years ago when I turned 51. I bought my new to me 2003 Heritage last July. I finally got around to selling my starter bike 1997 Honda just this week.

A coworker and her 68 year old husband came over to the house. He has ridden for many years and wanted to buy a bike like he had years ago. He rode the bike in my neighborhood, then we went out on the road so he could actually get the bike out of 2nd gear. This guy was all smiles, ear to ear.

He went down with the bike coming wide out of a turn. I think he hit some sand. The bike rode him off the road and into a ditch. The guy was seriously injured, and an airlift to a trauma ER was required. He ended up with a broken shoulder blade, collar bone, ribs on both sides, ankle and several vertebrae. Additionally his spleen was damaged. He had spleen surgery that day and the ankle will be worked on this week. The kickstand went through his leg, too.

The first words out of his mouth when he gathered his wits at the accident scene were an apology for the bike. His wife shoved money for the bike in my pocket at the scene. I really didn't care about the bike, it wasn't worth much. I was worried about him. They already have the bike in the shop getting fixed. The accident was only 5 days ago.

My take away is that we always have to maintain our edge of alertness when we ride. This guy was hurt badly. Prayer to him.

·
Registered
982 Posts
That is so unfortunate. Hope he recovers completely and is able to climb back on after recovery. Also, hope a lawsuit doesn't come up.

On that note, is there a document available for individuals who want to sell their bike to another individual that is a release of liability to the seller in case of instances like this? These days and times you need to cover your ass as much as possible.

·
Mississippi Cajun
25,202 Posts