Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
437 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for over 40 years and in that time I've ridden and owned, Japanese, British, German and American brands. Of all those different bikes I've never come across any that had a sidestand as good and secure as the Harley Jiffy Stand.

I've had parked bikes bumped by cars and watched them fall over as the stand folds up. I've parked lesser bikes on a slope and seen them roll forward and fall as the stand folds up.

Yes, I learned to leave them in gear sometimes, but the point is I've never seen any side stand I think is as good as Harley's locking Jiffy stand.

So, I just did a Harley survey in which they seem to be considering replacing the Jiffy Stand with some undisclosed new stand.

Why would they mess with perfection? Are there Harley riders out there that actually dislike the Jiffy stand?? Other than the name I can find no fault with them. What say you??

·
Wayward Son
23,864 Posts
I know many call it a jiffy stand.
Around here we call it a kickstand.
The only reason I can think they would replace it is cost. They found a cheaper alternative. But you can bet the retail price will not reflect the cost change.

And agreed on the design of the stand. Have never seen one fail other then due to Rider error or just plain worn out. = Rider error.

·
Registered
915 Posts
The name right out of the manual "Jiffy Stand":rollin Jiffy Stand, sounds like something on a Vespa or a Cushman
Who at the MoCo thought that was a good idea? the inventer?
If they are going to change something, change the name.
How about:
"FOKS" Foot Operated Kick Stand
"BASS" Bad A$$ Side Stand (yeah I like to fish)
"BAMS" Bad A$$ Motorcycle Stand

Whoever designed it got it right though. I for one hope they don't change a thing about it.

Someone out there has a better name............

·
Harley Rider
10,488 Posts