Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've posted here before, but it's been a while. My current (and first) bike is a Sporty 1200C and I love her.

I've been thinking of finding a cheap metric to mess around with as my first project bike. I'd like to chop it a little and make it in to a WWII-esqe bobber. But I'm not really sure.

Just wanted to ask for some suggestions. Any input is appreciated! I'm not a great mechanic and I completely expect to screw up somewhere down the road, that's why I want the cheap old metric loll.

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
39,577 Posts
Yamaha SX650, big aftermarket on those.

Also the classic SOHC or DOHC Honda CB750, huge aftermarket on those as well.

·
Between Eternities
845 Posts
I agree with Kainam - I have a buddy who has two of these Yamahas as baskets in his barn waiting for him to build as bobbers for he and his wife. Real nice unit construction air cooled 4-stroke with simple points ignition, visually appealing industrial design, and the parallel twin has a really cool sound.

·
Super Moderator
12,744 Posts
If it were me, I would look for a basket case Shovel or Ironhead. I have seen some craigslist deals that would be great starter bikes and parts are common & cheap.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I would like to build a custom and use a shovel head, but I'm not sure if I want that to be my first project. I thought about messing with my Sporty, but I don't want to hurt her lol. I'm thinking of a metric that I wouldn't care about messing up on, here and there. If I started on a HD, unless it was dirt cheap, I'd feel a little nervous about messing up. I'm thinking that the HD is the goal once I know a little more about what I'm doing lol.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)