Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I kind of brought this up in my upgrades thread, but I'm not sure if it's getting much traffic.

I finally got my bars and grips in today!! I asked the dealership while there last weekend how long (aka how much) a handlebar install was. I was told one hour for a straight swap, or 6 HOURS (aka $600) for internal wiring. I'm no expert by far, I just started riding last year.... but i have basic mechanical knowledge. 6 hours to undo what? 10-20ish bolts, detach wires, pull them through new bars, reattach wires, and screw in the bolts? Sounds like it should be a 2 hour MAX for a garage of pro harley mechanics...IMO. I know a guy that did a straight swap on his lunch break, so I know THAT doesn't take an hour. I know 1 hour is their min charge, but still if they're telling me 1 hour for a straight swap..they gotta be stretching the internal out.

I really would prefer the internal, but Idk if I have the tools and/or know how to do it myself. Idk if I know anyone around here with either of those...

What do you guys think? Are they boning me on the garage time? Do I need anything special to do it myself? how "hard" is it?

thanks

·
Registered
5,015 Posts
Ah, if it was only as easy as you make it sound. Properly done, each wire has to be removed from the connector, then unwrapped out of the harness. Quicker is to cut and solder each wire. Then there's the pulling through the bars. I did it once, now the wires outside my bars are invisible to me.

·
Registered
5,015 Posts
Ah, if it was only as easy as you make it sound. Properly done, each wire has to be removed from the connector, then unwrapped out of the harness. Quicker is to cut and solder each wire. Then there's the pulling through the bars. I did it once, now the wires outside my bars are invisible to me.

What say you STANGS?

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

What say you STANGS?