Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello first post to this board. I am a motorcycle mechanic with experience mostly on jap bikes. Well got to fix the tranny in a 92 Ultra Classic Electra Glide (FL-whats the letters for this model?).
Most of the gears in the tranny are either damaged or worn, with over a 100,000 M on the bike. I found the cheapest complete tranny guts that I could find was a Ultima 6 speed builders kit. To go in the stock case, from Jireh Cycle for 500 bucks. Call them up and they tell me they are sold out. But they have a complete softail tranny for just 560.

So the question is: Am I gonna have any problems gutting a new Ultima trans to put the guts in the stock FL trans case?

Also do these transmissions have problems with durability etc. for a stock (jetted and pipe) 80 inch evo. What kind of reputaion do they have?

Thanks Thure in Rocky Point

·
I {Heart} Hookers.
31,321 Posts
What's the hourly Labor Rate in Mexico for a motorcycle mechanic? :D

Please introduce yourself in the "New to the Community" section and hang out a bit, Thure.

As for your Q:

You have a 1992 FLHTCU

If you're using Ultima's #98-901 Trans Builders Kit, it'll fit.

For $560, that's the price of a Builders Kit, Not a whole trans. The complete trans runs in the $700-750 range, from Ultima...... :confused: Unless they have one that was returned or.......(???)

Trans: http://www.choppersurplus.com/np/transmissions/ultima/ultima6.html

Builders Kit:

http://www.debrix.com/items/item.aspx?itemid=1742689

A Softail has a different case, on the outside, but the guts are the same, in the earlier years, 1990-1997.

You'll need a special (almost 8" deep) socket to get the trans front drive pulley off, and an Inner Bearing Race Puller/Installer as well. You'll also need a Primary Gasket/Seal kit, which runs about $65 from Jims, which is good stuff.

Clutch retaining nut is reversed thread.