Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I have no experience tuning any vehicle. I did stage 1 a few months ago and used the power vision auto tune for quote a few runs. I can't really comment on butt dyno but it runs smooth from idle to the Rev limiter and no longer surges as low speeds.

My question hinges on the tuning. I don't fully understand the effect and value of the ve table. The auto tune does not alter the afr map, only the ve tables. Is this how dyno tuners do it? Does the ecm use these values to adjust it's fuel tables? Is this an altitude sensitive tuning or do these values change with manifold air pressure (which would change with altitude, all else equal)? I remember some mention in the auto tune manual that says it sets air to a different value when in auto tune; is this the target afr of is it just eliminating a variable?

Feel free to link some good articles if you've got them. The reason I assumed the MAP linkage is because the pv manual mentions it. Thanks guys! Young guy wants to know what you old guys have to offer.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Changing the AFR is a big part of what the tuner does . There are a lot of different tuners on the market and there are different ways to achieve the same thing . A dyno-jet power commander, power vision, etc will allow the ECM to compensate for altitude changes . If your AFR is 13 to 1 it will remain that at high altitude , that's part of the reason for electronic fuel injection with sensors in the exhaust , it's constantly adjusting itself to maintain the correct AFR .

·
Registered
3,173 Posts
AFR tables are used to adjust the mix of air and fuel within the cylinder. VE tables are volumetric efficiency. Basically it tells the ecm how "full" the cylinder guts on the stroke at a particular RPM. So a VE of 85 means that the cylinder only reaches 85% of fill capacity on the fill cycle at that engine speedm

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter #4