Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, My name is Gary, and im new to the scene. Just bought an 01 softail Standard todaay. It has screaming eagle pipes currently, which I heard was supposed to be loud. I dont know what model they are, since I'm just learning. All I know for sure is that they are not that loud. I want to know what everyones opinions are about which exhaust is the loudest.

Any opinion is greatly apprciated, and thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Most Screaming Eagle pipes have adjustable baffals you might look and if not than a new set of shotgun pipes will get the sound out of it your lookin for. Vance&Hines makes a real wide aray of pipes that will always put Screamin Eagle pipes to shame.

·
CVMA 44-2
252 Posts
Hey Gary
The Samson "Big Guns" pipes are loud...real loud. Not made in USA. Philiphines I think.
Look good.
Pete

·
STAND AND FIGHT!
13,116 Posts
....im new to the scene.....Any opinion is greatly appreciated, and thanks in advance
Well, since you asked, don't do it.
You admit to being new and seek advice, so don't take offense at being told the truth.

Loud pipes destroy your hearing with a quickness, piss off the cops, piss off your neighbors
and make people in traffic want to knock you off your bike.

...and it marks you as an obnoxious and immature noobie and a dumb-ass.
Especially since anybody who knows anything about motorcycles will know
that you deliberately suffered a loss of performance in order to be offensive.

It's an expensive mod, pipes that will hold up are very expensive and pointless.

Why don't you suppress this urge for awhile, see if you don't decide in time
that it wasn't really such a good idea after all.

A quieter bike performs better, and you get to ride it harder
because everybody in the county doesn't know when you open up the throttle.

And if you don't listen, I'll give you $25 for your Screaming Eagle mufflers.