Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My '09 EG Classic didn't come with the provisions for rider/passenger intercom outside of what's built-in to the advanced audio system, and has no rear speakers or CB.

I've priced up some of the parts, and can find all that info as needed. I also know I have to take the outer shell of the faring off to install the CB, if I want to. I'm a ham radio operator and may opt for something from Yaesu - they have a nice all weather 2 meter/440CM radio, so I may go that route instead of Citizens Band radio.

What else needs to be done in order to add intercom & rear speakers - I have to replace the console with one that's got the plug for the rider intercom, but do I also have to take the tank off to route the wires? Would I need a new control stock on the handlebar, or on both, to add PTT for the intercom, when not using VOX? Do I need to take the tank off the bike to route the wires back to the rear of the bike?

I'm reasonably mechanically inclined, and just installed the Jagg low mount fan assist oil cooler, but before I go buying parts just how big a job is adding intercom and rear speakers?

I looked around this forum, did some keyword searches but none of the articles I found spoke to what I am trying to do, hence my question here.

Thanks for your time,

~Dave

·
Rookie for life
929 Posts
If you go the factory route you'll have to install an "ultra" wiring harness. This permits plug and play for the intercom and rear speakers, but it's expensive {$100+} and a PITA to install; it's run right down the backbone to the tourpak. The hardware is also gonna be a good buck, but eBay is your friend here... there's usually lots of factory stuff available.

If you're not set on factory, Iron Cross Audio is a good aftermarket outfit and might have some workarounds. J&M is top notch but pricey.