Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm new to the forum and not even a rider yet. I need some advice, hoping you all can help since you are experienced. I've ridden before, but never operated/drove the motorcycle. I'm in my fifties now, female, 5'1 and 108 pounds soaking wet. I have no experience at all, no dirt bikes, sports bikes, nothing. All I've ever done is ride on the back of the bike. So, this spring I get this itch to learn myself and buy a bike. I registered for a "new" rider course, MSF course, at the Harley dealership here. Anyway. I had to leave the riding portion of the class without finishing. It was really embarrassing. I left on my own because I felt like I was in over my head. I was having trouble holding the bike up at times. And, one of the field exercises was having to power walk the bike, while on it, up an incline with the bike in neutral. I couldn't do it; i tried my best. But i was on tiptoe while everyone else was flat footed, taller and outweighed me. I'm not trying to make excuses, but they did it easily and I couldn't do it. I also felt like the class was moving way too fast. They repeated nothing and there was no practice in between; just one thing then they moved to next. My question is this. Should I give up? (I don't want to). And if I don't give up, what's the best way for me to learn to ride? Should I take another course? On a sport type bike that is lighter and smaller? Buy a trike? Would rather not but if that's the only way I can ride, i would. Should I see if someone will do one on one's with me rather than learn in a group? Thanks in advance and please be kind. Just wanting to learn.

·
Banned
2,466 Posts