Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to using a lift to service my bike. I just got the J & S lift. Today I have new tires sitting here which will go on after the season is over. For me that will be the first time they spread salt on the roads then I am done till next spring. My plan is to take the wheels off the bike myself then having a local indy shop do the mount and balance.
Here's my question.
Is the bike going to balance okay up on the lift with both wheels off? It seems to me that it would be light in the ass end. I don't want any mishaps.

·
Registered
3,173 Posts
Always best to strap the bike to the jack, however, the J&S jack is pretty stable without them.

·
The Angry One
10,578 Posts
I started out using the tie downs every time the bike was on the lift, then only on wheel removal, now...... Nothing. Lol. Even pulling both wheels. It's ultimately your choice.

·
South GA Redneck
3,898 Posts
As stated its always best to use strap. But if you don't, don't pick it up any higher than necessary so if it tips over it doesn't have too far to fall!! It is a real pain to get a bike with no wheels back up on a lift....ask me how I know :)

·
The Fighting Chicken
4,006 Posts
I started out using the tie downs every time the bike was on the lift, then only on wheel removal, now...... Nothing. Lol. Even pulling both wheels. It's ultimately your choice.

I've never strapped on...... ;)

If I do some serious wrench pulling I just keep an eye on the bike so it doesn't shift.

·
I {Heart} Hookers.
31,321 Posts
If you make sure bike is balanced......I've skipped straps. Even with removing tires. Wheels/tires are 40lbs with 16" wheels. Adjust accordingly.

·
Registered
28 Posts